Members of the Authority





Members of the Authority are paid Category 4 fees* as follows:
Chairperson - €8,978
Member - €5,985

*Departmental representatives and other public sector employees will not be paid any fees.


 27062019 Geraldine 3

Ms. Geraldine Clarke (Chairperson) is a solicitor with Gleeson McGrath Baldwin, Solicitors, Dublin. She is head of the firms Litigation Department. She has extensive experience in all aspects of commercial and general litigation practicing in the areas of banking, intellectual property, employment, EU law, product liability and general contract disputes. Geraldine is a past President of the Law Society and Founding Director of the Irish Centre for European Law. A fluent French speaker, she was head of the Irish Delegation to the Council of Europe Bars and Law Societies (CCBE) for a number of years and is now the representative of the Law Society to the International Bar Association (IBA). She is a member of the Irish Financial Services Appeals Tribunal which was established to decide appeals from decisions of the Financial Regulator. Geraldine was a member of the PSRA Implementation Group which was set up to assist and advice on practical matters relating to the establishment of the new body and to prepare for the new licensing system. As Chairperson Designate, Geraldine engaged with the Joint Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality on 27 March, 2012. Back to List of Members



 board member

Edward Carey is Managing Director, Property Team Carey Auctioneers, Enfield, Co. Meath. He has 20 years professional industry experience as a practicing auctioneer and valuer. Edward is a former President of the Irish Auctioneers and Valuers Institute (IAVI) and is currently Chairman, Residential Agency Practice Group, Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland. Back to List of Members




 board member Paul Mooney has worked exclusively in Property Management in Ireland for 20 years. He is a Director/Partner in Strathmore Ivernia Ltd offering Property Management and Consultancy services to Owner Management Companies and other property owners and occupiers. As a member of the Irish Property and Facility Managers Association he was part of the delegation in 2006/07 making presentations to the Law Reform Commission, Officer of Director of Corporate Enforcement, National Property Services Regulatory Authority and the National Consumer Agency regarding issues and difficulties in Multi Unit Developments. Paul holds a Diploma in Auctioneering and Valuations from the Irish Auctioneers and Valuers Institutes and is a member of the Society of Chartered Surveyors of Ireland. He is an accredited Mediator with Mediation Forum Ireland. He completed Adjudication Induction for Private Residential Tenancies Board (2004). Back to List of Members




 24062019 Hilary   Hilary Griffey Solicitor with a recent MBA and Corporate  Governance qualifications. Extensive experience in legal, regulatory, commercial and business affairs. Back to List of Members






 board memberAideen Hayden Solicitor and Housing Policy Analyst. Experience of consumer affairs, business and finance. Member of the Irish Senate 2011-2016. Back to List of Members.






Dr Muiris O'Ceidigh Chief Executive, National Milk Agency (NMA) He established the Agency as a state regulator in the Dairy industry. Dr O'Ceidigh, a solicitor, holds a Doctorate in Governance from Queens University Belfast. Prior to appointment as CEO of the National Milk Agency, he practiced as a commercial lawyer with A & L Goodbody specialising in financial products. He has also been appointed as a member of Medical Scientists Registration Board by the Minister for Health representing the public interest in 2016.  He is Non-Executive Director of the European Consumer Centre Ireland. Previously he served as a director of the Economic Research Institute of Northern Ireland having been appointed by UK government. He has authored several publications on subjects related to Law, Economics and Business Strategy. He is a Fellow of the Irish Institute of Training and Development. Back to List of Members


 Gordon HughesGordon Hughes has over 20 years’ experience in the property sector having worked for a large Property Management Company in Dublin.  He established his own property practice in 2001 in his native Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim.  In 2017, Gordon expanded his business when he acquired the successful practice of John Fitzgerald Auctioneers in Ratoath, Co. Meath and rebranded the company as Fitzgerald Hughes.  He has served as a  County Councillor and has worked on the Board of HSE West, Border Regional Authority and Leitrim Enterprise Company. Back to List of Members





 Ella Dunphy

Ella Dunphy established herself as a leading Auctioneer and Valuer in Kilkenny City and in the South East Region over the past 16 years.  In 2013, Ella was elected to the Council of the Institute of Professional Auctioneers and Valuers and in 2018 was appointed as the first lady President of the Institute of Auctioneers & Valuers.    Ella also sits on a committee with IT Tallaght involved with the setting of the modules for the Property Valuations degree course. Back to List of Members





 Orla MoranOrla Moran is a qualified Chartered Accountant with CAI and a Chartered Tax Advisor (CTA) with the Irish Tax Institute.  Orla is also a qualified Barrister after completing a BCL (International) degree in University College Dublin and holds a Barrister at Law Degree from King’s Inns Dublin. Orla has extensive experience in accounting, compliance, tax, regulatory and legal affairs. Back to List of Members





 Emer Byrne


Emer Byrne is a Chartered Valuation Surveyor with a degree in science from UCD combined with an Auctioneering degree and a Masters in sustainable development from Technological University of Dublin.  She has over 25 years’ experience in the property sector across various sectors including development, valuations, significant infrastructure  projects and asset management. Back to List of Members



 Martin McDermott  

Martin McDermott is a Principal Officer in the Criminal Legislation Division of the Department of Justice and Equality. His current role covers general and economic criminal legislation  and other EU measures.  He holds honours degrees in Law and Taxation, and a Masters degree in Economics.

Prior to joining the Department of Justice and Equality, he held positions in the Office of the Attorney General, the Office of the Revenue Commissioners and the Department of Finance. Back to List of Members